Ahh… Advertising

The program The Persuaders was a very interesting and informative insight on advertising. The first thing that jumped out at me was when they said once you start advertising (as a company), you can’t stop because the competition for consumers. It might be a long shot, but this made me think, can advertising have a same qualities as an addiction? Once you start, you can’t stop. Once you put your final product out there for the world, you’re instantly working on the next one, the next fix. Advertising is everywhere and I can see how people can get so caught up in it.

advertising

The next idea that caught my attention was when loyal customers were compared to cults. They were to find out why people join cults and apply that knowledge to brands to have those die-hard loyal customers. We all know people, and ourselves, that have the specific brands we like or prefer. Whether it’s Tide, All or OxiClean, Shell or Chevron, Starbucks or a local coffee shop, we all have those go-to brands that we tend to pick up. With brand loyalty, in my own experience, and I’m sure I’m not the only one, I was raised with a few main brands. The few that I think of are condiments. (and this is probably because I’m hungry.) These brands were the same at every family gathering and are probably still the top brands today. There’s the Best Foods Mayonnaise, Heinz Ketchup, and French’s Mustard. Now, I tend to gravitate towards these brands because they are something that is familiar.

Another interesting idea that was brought up was the use of TiVo and DVR. This gives us the ability, and the luxury, of skipping through the commercials. However, NEVER skip the Superbowl commercials! That’s my rule for you. With skipping the commercials, the idea was made that the products and companies should be in the shows so that even if we are skipping the commercials, we will still be exposed to their products. I personally don’t think this is the most thought out plan. It might just turn the shows into one big infomercial, and that would not go over well. Unless it’s the Magic Bullet, ShamWow or OxiClean, then I might tune in, because who doesn’t love those ones?! I’m sure we’ve all had those late nights when nothing was on and we found ourselves watching a solid half hour of an infomercial. Now usually it’s that time when you’re lounging on the couch, half a pint into some Ben & Jerry’s (yet another go-to brand of mine), when the infomercial comes on: “Do you want to make a change in your life? Are you lazy? Do you want to look better? Then get this typical fitness program.” Perfect timing right? Thanks for making me feel 100 times better about eating this whole pint in one sitting….

advertising1

But then again, that could be their strategy. They know if you’re up that late, you’re probably snacking. That’s when they think, “Now! Move, move, move! Make them feel bad about themselves so that they will buy our product!”

It’s always crazy to me to think about how much goes into advertising and how often we are exposed to it.

Thank you for reading!

Rachel

2 thoughts on “Ahh… Advertising

  1. I like your idea that brand loyalty begins before we are really able to ever buy things on our own! I know when I’m shopping I buy the same brands that my mom always bought for me when I was a kid. I always find it kind of funny that when I come home from school I always tend to see the same stuff in the fridge. Also, I really think infomercials are on late at night to capitalize on people who can’t sleep and therefore are more prone to make poor judgement, everyone thinks they need new oven mits that you can light on fire at about 3 in the morning right?

  2. Your blogs always make me laugh! The whole cult thing blew my mind too, those people who only buy Nike stuff are somewhat crazy in my mind, they spend so much on clothing they are just going to sweat in and make smell bad. But condiments, oh yes, why buy any ketchup that isn’t Heinz?!?! That would be insanity!I 110% agree with your rule to not skip superbowl commercials, that was something I didn’t even think about when doing this blog and loved that you brought that up… superbowl ads are for the most part always the best and are the most enjoyable commercials of the year unlike the others that are played daily on our television screens. On a random yet semi related note, my freshman year at HSU I ate a pint of Ben & Jerry’s everyday…in one sitting. I don’t know how I survived walking up all the hills and stairs of campus after eating all of that ice cream everyday but I must admit that I do follow the company on Instagram now and admire and “like” their work and social media posts as they endorse non-GMO products so maybe I am a cult follower of an ice cream company, scary yet awesome?

Leave a Reply

